Darwin Doll
National Nostalgia Drag Racing Association
Ph: 717-757-2720


York, Pennsylvania, March 23, 2009

Eighteen Pioneers of Drag Racing will be receiving Legion of Honor awards presented annually by the National Nostalgia Drag Racing Association at the 8th Annual Musclecar Madness at the York Reunion which will be presented at the York Expo Center, York Fairgrounds, 334 Carlisle Ave. on July 10-11, 2009.

For the first time in the history of the awards presentations two teams will be receiving awards during the popular awards ceremony which is presented on Friday, July 10th at 6pm.

The 2009 recipients include:
  • Hubert Platt, Cumming, GA;
  • Bob Tasca, Sr., Cranston, RI;
  • John Healey, Venice, FL;
  • Bill Lawton (posthumous) Cranston, RI;
  • Bob Chipper, Binghamton, NY;
  • Jerry Baltes, Richmond, VA;
  • Sam Auxier, Jr., Gaithersburg, MD;
  • Gordy Foust, Douglasville,GA;
  • Wally Booth, Hazel Park, MI;
  • Dick Estevez, Clinton, MD;
  • Al Joniec, Aiken, SC;
  • Monk Reynolds, Fredericksburg, VA;
  • Billy West (posthumous) Dubois, PA;
  • Jack Duffy (posthumous) Levittown, PA.

Team awards will be presented to:
  • Charlie "Dodge" Hagenmayer (posthumous)/George Snizek of the Pacers Auto Drag Racing Team  Hempstead, NY;
  • Terry Strickler (posthumous)/Thomas Strickler, York, PA.

The prestigous awards are presented to individuals who have made an indelible impression on the sport and the industry during the 60's and 70's. Each individual will receive an individual award and his or her name will be placed upon a perpetual award that will be displayed at the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing in perpetuity.

The EMMR is located one mile North of York Springs, PA just off US Route 15.

The 2009 inductees join a elite group of the sports' most famous names i.e. "Big Daddy" Don Garlits, Bill "Grumpy" Jenkins, Dave Strickler, Bruce Larson, Ronnie Sox, "Jungle Jim" Liberman, Don Yenko, Linda Vaughn, and the list goes on.

The 8th Annual Musclear Madness at the York Reunion hours are Friday, July 10th 1 p.m. until 8 p.m. and Saturday, July 11th 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

All active service men and women will be admitted free upon presentation of their identification at the ticket office.